The Thomas Jefferson Center for the Protection of Free Expression has named its 2008 Muzzle award winners. Among those recognized were the Texas Democratic Party (for leaving Dennis Kucinich off the primary ballot because he refused to sign a pledge that he would “fully support” the eventual Democratic nominee), the FCC (for its "inconsistent regulation of 'indecency' on the nation’s airwaves," which, in one example, prompted 150 stations to not air "Saving Private Ryan" for fear of getting slapped with fines), and the New York Department of Motor Vehicles, which sent out but later recalled (without explaining why) the license plate above.

No comments: